American Flag

The Board of Commissioners is elected officials for two terms and who oversees county activities. Additionally, the Commissioners work to ensure that citizen concerns are met, federal and state requirements are fulfilled, and county operations run smoothly. County commissioners spend a lot of time working with and representing people.

They attend regular meetings of the county board as well as meetings of board sub-committees and county-related boards and commissions. They represent county concerns before local, state, and national boards and commissions, including school boards, city councils, township boards, and state and federal offices. Click here for a full description.

Board of Commissioners meetings are open to the public and are held at the County Courthouse every second Thursday at 4:00 pm and the last Friday at 9:30 am. Clerk to the Board of Commissioners Ann Marie Main 989.734.3288

Chairman: Carl Altman
Vice-Chairman: Lee Gapczynski 

District 1: Allis Township, Bearinger Township, North Allis Township, City of Onaway
Nancy S. Shutes (R)
18439 Iroquois Lane
Ocqueoc, MI  49759  

District 2: Case Township, Ocqueoc Township, Rogers Township
Lee Gapczynski (R) 
4045 Nagel Hwy.
Rogers City, MI  49779

District 3: City of Rogers City
Michael Darga (D) 
1113 Dettloff
PO Box 108
Rogers City, MI 49779

District 4: Belknap Township, Bismarck Township, Metz Township, Moltke Township, Posen Township.
Carl L. Altman (R) 
1068 West Hawks Hwy.
Hawks, MI 49743

District 5: Krakow Township, Presque Isle Township, Pulawski Township.
John Chappa (D)
4444 E. County Road 638
Hawks, MI  49743   

Committee Appointments (First Named – Chairperson)
Executive Committee Altman, Gapczynski, Darga (alt)
Finance and Auditing Committee Gapczynski, Altman, Darga (alt)
Courthouse and Grounds (Airport, Parks, Road Commission, Equalization & Footings, Building Authority, Courthouse, Jail, Grounds) Chappa, Darga, Shutes (alt)
Personnel Committee Gapczynski, Shutes, Altman (alt)
Public Health and Safety Committee (Department of Human Services, Emergency Services, solid waste, housing commission, and law enforcement) Darga, Chappa, Shutes (alt)
District Health Board Altman, Gapczynski, Shutes, and Darga (alt)
Special AppointmentsMembers
Chief Administrative Officer Altman
53d Circuit Court Advisory Committee Gapczynski, Altman
NEMCSA Chappa, Altman (alt)
Michigan Works (Consortium) Darga, Shutes (alt)
Northern Counties Association Altman, Gapczynski (alt)
Michigan Townships Association Darga, Shutes, Chappa (alt)
Multi-County Authority for Solid Waste Darga
Community Corrections Advisory Board Gapczynski, Altman
NEMCOG Altman, Gapczynski (alt)
CDC/EDC/Tourism Chappa, Darga (alt)
Transit Authority Shutes
Recycling AllianceDarga
Conservation District Chappa, Darga (alt)
Senior Citizens Darga, Shutes (alt members)
Citizens Advisory Committee State Parks Darga
Department of Human Services Shutes
Road Commission Liaison   Chappa, Shutes

Additional Resources
FOIA Procedures and Guidelines & Additional Resources
Organizational Meeting
Ordinance & Policy Links
Rules of Order

Minutes of the Board
2020 Minutes of the Board
2021 Minutes of the Board
2022 Minutes of the Board

Address Ordinance
Animal Control
Building Code
Hazardous Materials
High Transport Corridor Zoning Ordinance
ORV Ordinance
Municipal Civil Infraction
Planning Commission Ordinance
Zoning Ordinance is available at the Building and Zoning Department

Presque Isle Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS)
2021 Presque Isle Health & Human Services Minutes of the Board
2022 Presque Isle Health & Human Services Minutes of the Board